“He said, “O LORD, the God of my master Abraham, please grant me success today, and show lovingkindness to my master Abraham. “Behold, I am standing by the spring, and the daughters of the men of the city are coming out to draw water; now may it be that the girl to whom I say, ‘Please let down your jar so that I may drink,’ and who answers, ‘Drink, and I will water your camels also’—may she be the one whom You have appointed for Your servant Isaac; and by this I will know that You have shown lovingkindness to my master.””  Gen. 24:12-14

Here we see the first request for divine assistance in the scriptures.  Friedman notes that thus far, no human has asked for such assistance, along with a miraculous sign, and the servant even goes so far as to specify what the sign should be.  As I take the position that Abraham’s servant is a picture of the Holy Spirit, we can expect that no request would have been denied.

As the scriptures continue, Godly men become more bold toward God in their faith, such as when Joshua commands the sun to stand still (Joshua 10:12); however, the wicked become more bold against God in their wickedness, as we see in the book of Revelation:

“…and they blasphemed the name of God who has the power over these plagues, and they did not repent so as to give Him glory.”  Rev. 16:6

Chizkuni speculates that the servant strategically chose a place away from the house so that the girl would act more like herself than if she were near family.

Rabbi Sforno notes that water for the camels and for Eliezer would be all that could be needed at the moment, so the right girl would effectually fulfill all present needs.  This will illustrate her servanthood.

