“The LORD, the God of heaven, who took me from my father’s house and from the land of my birth, and who spoke to me and who swore to me, saying, ‘To your descendants I will give this land,’ He will send His angel before you, and you will take a wife for my son from there. “But if the woman is not willing to follow you, then you will be free from this my oath; only do not take my son back there.” – Gen. 24:7-8

First we note the echo of Genesis 12 as Abraham recounts God’s calling and promise:

“Now the LORD said to Abram, “Go forth from your country, and from your relatives and from your father’s house, to the land which I will show you;”  Gen. 12:1

“The LORD appeared to Abram and said, “To your descendants I will give this land.” So he built an altar there to the LORD who had appeared to him.”  Gen. 12:7

Abraham had confidence that God would protect his servant with an angel.  The journey back to Mesopotamia was many miles and was potentially perilous.  As important as Abraham considers a wife for Isaac, it is amazingly, outweighed by Abraham’s desire to keep Isaac in the Promised Land – that is, he felt the threat of Isaac potentially wanting to settle in his homeland was more important than Isaac marrying in the family.  The general opinion of scholars is that Abraham simply did not want Isaac to ever leave the Promised Land, even though there is no biblical explanation.

There is some speculation that Abraham’s servant himself had one or more daughters, and desired to marry in to Abraham’s family through Isaac, though we do not know this for certain.


